Banks in Zambia

The history of banks in Zambia traces back to Northern Rhodesia and the British colonial rule.

Presently the Bank of Zambia (BoZ) serves as the national banking regulator in the republic. Zambia’s central bank was established in 1964, taking over the functions of the Bank of Northern Rhodesia.

The Bank of Zambia has origins in the 1938 formation of the Southern Rhodesia Currency Board, which was based in Harare. The Board’s jurisdiction included Northern Rhodesia, now Zambia and Nyasaland, now Malawi.

In 1954, the Southern Rhodesia Currency Board was renamed to Currency Board of Rhodesia and Nyasaland, the currency board was transformed into the Bank of Rhodesia and Nyasaland in 1956.

In 1964, the Bank of Zambia was created from the Bank of Northern Rhodesia, which itself had only formed a year earlier in 1963 from the Lusaka branch of the Rhodesia and Nyasaland bank.

BoZ supervises banks in Zambia, as well as formulating and implementing monetary policy in the country.

Here is a list of banks in Zambia in the alphabetical order

  1. AB Bank Limited
  2. Absa Bank Zambia Plc
  3. Access Bank Zambia Limited
  4. Atlas Mara Bank Zambia Limited
  5. Bank of China Zambia Limited
  6. Cavmont Bank
  7. Citibank Zambia Limited
  8. Ecobank Zambia Limited
  9. First Alliance Bank Zambia Limited
  10. First Capital Bank Zambia Limited
  11. First National Bank of Zambia Limited
  12. Indo-Zambia Bank Limited
  13. Investrust Bank Zambia Limited
  14. Stanbic Bank Zambia Limited
  15. Standard Chartered Bank Zambia Plc
  16. United Bank for Africa Zambia Limited
  17. Zambia Industrial Commercial Bank Limited
  18. Zambia National Commercial Bank Plc